Home - Engineering & Technology - Department of English


Introduction   |   Courses Offered   |   Infrastructure   |   Research & Development

Awards & Achievements   |   Associations & Activities   |   Publications



  • Ph.D. Programme

  • Thrust Areas for Research

    • English Language Teaching

    • English for Specific Purposes

    • British, American and Indian Literature

    • Applied Linguistics

    • Socio-Psycho Linguistics

    • Post-Modernism

    • Feminism

    • Innovative technologies in Teaching English

Training programme through MOU

  • Signed an MOU with the British Council and Cambridge on-line to conduct BEC & BULLATS Course in 2007 & 2010 respectively.

  • Students have taken examinations in Prelim, Vantage and Advanced Courses – 3 set of students have already completed

  • Students are undergoing on-line BULLATS


The Department celebrated the 150th Birth Anniversary of Sir. Rabindranath Tagore by organising a seminar on the topic ‘Tagore, the Citizen of the World’. About 25 research papers were received on the various aspects of Tagore’s writings followed by a cultural programme on Rabindra Sangeet. The Department is applying for grant to MHRD under TAGORE COMMEMMORATION GRANT SCHEME.

On-going Research

S.No. Name of the Staff Ph.D./ M.Phil College Affiliation Name of the Guide Guide Affiliation Topic
1 Ms.AMRITHA Ph.D. registered In 2002 Dr.M.G.R. University Dr.Venkateswaran Regional Institute of English Man Management in the Novels of Chinua Achebe
2 Ms.M.CHANDRASENA RAJESWARAN Ph.D. registered Dr.M.G.R. University Dr.S. Padmasani Kannan,  Dr.M.G.R. University Dramatizing English Teaching through Role Play
3 Ms.LAKSHMIPRIYA  Ph.D. registered Dr.M.G.R. University Dr.Gowri Sivaraman Dr.M.G.R. University Chinese – American Literature “Transition in evolving Women in the Novels of Amytan”


Faculty pursuing higher studies

S.No. Name of the Staff Ph. D/ M.Phil Year
1 Prof.R.PUSHKALA Ph. D Submitted, Aug.2010
2 Ms.MARY ITTOOP Ph. D Submitted,Jun.2009
3 Ms.M.CHANDRASENA RAJESWARAN Ph. D Registered,2009 
4 Ms.LAKSHMIPRIYA Ph. D Registered,2009
5 Ms. Anuradha M. Phil Registerd, 2010